The leading association
of public opinion and
survey research professionals
American Association for Public Opinion Research


Scott FrickerDr. Herbert Abelson died September 10, 2018 in Cary, North Carolina.  He was 92. He was active his entire career in the American Association for Public Opinion Research (AAPOR).  He served as President in 1974, and in 1995 was the recipient of the AAPOR Award for "Exceptionally Distinguished Achievement."  He also served as Chairman of the Council of American Survey Research Organizations (CASRO). View his Heritage Interview. Read his Presidential Address.

Latest News

AAPOR Comments on the Census Bureau’s Proposed Information Collection Activities for the 2020 Census

Overwhelming Response to FCC Petition on the Differentiation of Marketing Research from Marketing in TCPA

AAPOR Joint Statement on BEA Funding

AAPOR Statement Regarding the 2020 Census




AAPOR Transparency InitiativeBecome a member of the TI, supporting our mutual goal of more effective disclosure of research methods by all organizations. JOIN


No upcoming deadlines


On deadline and need to talk to an expert about survey research or a polling issue in the news?