ePrivacy and GPDR Cookie Consent by Cookie Consent
The leading association
of public opinion and
survey research professionals
American Association for Public Opinion Research

2016 AAPOR Awards Announced

AAPOR Announces 2016 Award Winners, Honoring Industry Leaders

CHICAGO, IL, March 21, 2016 — The American Association for Public Opinion Research (AAPOR), the nation's leading association for public opinion and survey research professionals, is pleased to announce our 2016 award winners. These accomplished members of our public opinion and survey research community will be honored during the annual award banquet held at the 71st Annual Conference in Austin, Texas.

2016 Seymour Sudman Student Paper Competition Award

Ashley Amaya, RTI International Nonresponse Bias for Survey Estimates of Social Activities and Roles

The Seymour Sudman Student Paper Competition Award is given as a tribute to Seymour Sudman in memory of his many contributions to survey methodology, his leadership in the AAPOR community and his teaching and mentoring of students in the survey research profession.

2016 Burns "Bud" Roper Fellow Award

Daniel Herda, University of California - Davis
Ashley Koning, Rutgers University Eagleton Center for
Public Interest Polling
Monica Reyna, University of Idaho
Eike Mark Rinke, University of Mannheim, Institute for
Media and Communication Studies
Malaena Taylor, University of Connecticut
Kelsey White, SurveySampling

The Burns "Bud" Roper Fellow Award is named for the late Burns "Bud" Roper who provided a substantial bequest in his will. Roper Fellows must demonstrate primary work responsibilities related to survey research or public opinion and have recently started their careers. Fellows receive financial assistance to help them attend the AAPOR Annual Conference and/or participate in conference short courses; most are first-time conference attendees.

2016 AAPOR Policy Impact Award

Urban Institute for the Health Reform Monitoring Survey

The AAPOR Policy Impact Award acknowledges that a key purpose of opinion and other survey research is to facilitate well informed decision-making. The award recognizes outstanding research that has had a clear impact on improving policy decisions, practice and discourse, either in the public or private sectors.

2016 AAPOR Book Award

Martin Gilens, Princeton University, Affluence and Influence: Economic Inequality and Political Power in America

The AAPOR Book Award recognizes influential books that have stimulated theoretical and scientific research in public opinion; and/or influenced our understanding or application of survey research methodology. Eligibility for the AAPOR Book Award includes any book in the field that is at least three years old (to allow time for books to be read and reviewed), including books published before or during the period covered by the AAPOR list of the Fifty Books That Have Significantly Shaped Public Opinion Research 1946-1995.

2016 AAPOR Student Travel Award

Sepideh Mosaferi, University of Maryland
Jessica Wengrzik, GESIS - Leibniz Institute for the Social
Sciences Survey Design and Methodology
Landon Schnabel, Indiana University
Eva Aizpurua, University of Castile-La Mancha
Alejandra Gimenez, Brigham Young University
Tianshu Zhao, University of Illinois at Chicago
Gerard Byron, University of Massachusetts-Boston
Lindsey Hendren, University of South Carolina
Charles Dahan, University of Florida
Stacy Pancratz, University of Michigan
Heather Kitada, Oregon State University
Holly Hagerty, University of Chicago

The AAPOR Student Travel Award funds graduate student attendance at the AAPOR Annual Conference. Student Travel Awards help to offset the expense of attending the conference. The awards are offered to students who are in need of financial support to attend the annual conference and experience this important educational and collegial event for public opinion and survey researchers.

2016 AAPOR Award for Lifetime Achievement

The award is given for outstanding contribution to the field of public opinion research including: advances in theory, empirical research and methods; improvements in ethical standards; and promotion of understanding among the public, media and/or policy makers.

The winner of the 2016 AAPOR Award for Lifetime Achievement will be announced at the annual awards banquet, Saturday, May 14, at the AAPOR Annual Conference. 

For more information on any of these awards, visit www.aapor.org.

# # #

The American Association for Public Opinion Research (AAPOR) is the leading professional organization of public opinion and survey research professionals in the U.S., with members from academia, media, government, the non-profit sector and private industry. AAPOR members embrace the principle that public opinion research is essential to a healthy democracy, providing information crucial to informed policymaking and giving voice to the nation's beliefs, attitudes and desires. It promotes a better public understanding of this role, as well as the sound and ethical conduct and use of public opinion research.