ePrivacy and GPDR Cookie Consent by Cookie Consent
The leading association
of public opinion and
survey research professionals
American Association for Public Opinion Research

The Student-Faculty Diversity Pipeline Award

The Student-Faculty Diversity Pipeline Award is intended to recruit faculty-student “pairs” interested in becoming AAPOR colleagues. The Award targets members of historically underrepresented racial-ethnic groups, interested in the study of public opinion and survey research methodology. AAPOR believes that the scholarly and practical understanding of our discipline is enhanced by the presence and involvement of different perspectives and creative thought. Such diversity and inclusion leads to consequential research, improved interdisciplinary collaboration, and a greater ability to address, understand, and solve problems related to public opinion and survey research methodology. This Award is for students and faculty who identify as: American Indian or Alaska Native; Black or African American; Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander; and Hispanic or Latino.

The 2022 award is for waived conference registration and annual membership fee for the student and faculty, and up to $800 cash awarded to the pair to support travel expenses to attend the annual conference.

The nomination period for the 2022 Student-Faculty Diversity Pipeline Award is now closed.  The winner will be announced in late spring 2022.


The Award supports faculty-student “pairs" and at a minimum, the student or faculty member should identify as belonging to the targeted population. Students must apply for the award, and there must be a faculty member willing to attend the conference. There is no requirement that the faculty member and student come from the same institution.

Eligible awardees must be full or part-time students (including Post-Doctoral students) enrolled in college or university programs. Both the student and faculty should have an interest in, teach or use, survey and/or public opinion research methods. Awardees must be willing to attend the All-Chapter Reception, Awards Banquet and additional networking events held during the AAPOR Conference to be determined.


Preference will be given to:

  • Student-faculty "pairs" where both individuals belong to the targeted population
  • Students and faculty who are not members of AAPOR or regular conference attendees
  • Students or faculty who have submitted a paper, poster, or panel for presentation

Application Process:

The application process consists of three steps: (1) An award application form, (2) a letter of support from the faculty member, and (3) the faculty member’s CV.

Nominations are closed.  Only completed applications received by
January 31st, 2022 (previously the 28th) will be considered for the 2022 Student-Faculty Diversity Pipeline Award. Please be sure to include both names on the application as you would like them to appear in the Conference program should you receive an award.