ePrivacy and GPDR Cookie Consent by Cookie Consent
The leading association
of public opinion and
survey research professionals
American Association for Public Opinion Research

AAPOR Honors Industry Leaders and Announces 2012-2013 Leadership at 2011 Annual Conference

DEERFIELD, Ill. — May 17, 2011 — The American Association for Public Opinion Research (AAPOR), the nation's leading association for public opinion and survey research professionals, honored leaders and innovators in the field and announced the group's newly elected Executive Council members at its 66th Annual Conference in Phoenix.

The award winners included the research team whose surveys of active duty military personnel and their families helped inform the Senate debate that led to the repeal of the “Don’t Ask Don’t Tell” policy.

“Each year AAPOR has the privilege of honoring leaders, visionaries and innovators in the field of public opinion and survey research,” said Keeter. “This year’s awardees are highly deserving of these awards for the valuable contributions they’ve made to our profession. It is my honor to recognize them.”

2011 AAPOR Award Winners

AAPOR Award for Exceptionally Distinguished Achievement the Association’s highest honor recognizes lifetime achievement and outstanding contributions to the field of public opinion research.

Stanley Presser, University of Maryland

Dr. Presser is professor of sociology at the University of Maryland. He co-founded the Joint Program in Survey Methodology, a pioneering and innovative program commitment to educating and training of future generations of survey research professionals. His book Questions and Answers in Attitude Surveys, written with Howard Schuman, was a path-breaking analysis of the often subtle dynamics involved in the interview process. It is one of AAPOR’s “Fifty Books That Have Shaped Public Opinion Research” and continues to be a reference for public opinion scholars 30 years after its publication.

Policy Impact Award recognizes outstanding research that has had a clear impact on improving policy decisions practice or discourse, either in the public or private sectors.

U.S. Department of Defense Comprehensive Review Working Group
RAND Corporation Survey Team
Westat Survey Team

The U.S. Department of Defense Comprehensive Review Working Group, RAND Corporation and Westat Survey Teams worked together to understand all issues and potential impacts associated with the repeal of the “Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell” policy (DADT).  The team reached out to military personnel and families, using structured and qualitative survey research procedures to understand the effects on the military oh the potential repeal of DADT. The findings of these survey efforts were presented and discussed in the Senate debate that resulted in a vote to repeal DADT. 

Warren J. Mitofsky Innovators Award recognizes accomplishments in the field of public opinion and survey research that occurred in the past ten years, or that had their primary impact on the field during the past decade.

Michael P. Battaglia, Abt Associates, Inc.; Martin R. Frankel, Baruch College; Michael W. Link, The Nielsen Company; Ali H. Mokdad, Institute for Health Metrics & Evaluation; Larry Osborn, Knowledge Networks 


Vincent G. Iannacchione, RTI International; Jennifer M. Staab, RTI International; David T. Redden, University of Alabama

These two groups of researchers explored the application of Address-Based Sampling for both telephone and face-to-face surveys. Their research clearly demonstrated the value of address-based sampling as a method of research and has inspired additional research on related topics.

AAPOR Elects 2012-2013 Executive Council

AAPOR also announced its newly elected 2012-2013 executive council members at the Annual Conference.

"Our association is the leader in the public opinion and survey research industry," said AAPOR President Scott Keeter of Pew Research Center. “We believe it is our responsibility to set industry standards and provide up-to-date information. I am excited to welcome a new group of leaders to the AAPOR Executive Council who will continue to carry out this vision."

AAPOR is governed by a 15-member executive council comprised of current and incoming officers. The current, incoming and past presidents also work closely together throughout the year to ensure continuity.

Incoming Executive Council:

Paul J. Lavrakas, Vice President/President-Elect, Independent Consultant 
Rachel Caspar, Associate Secretary-Treasurer, RTI International
Patricia Moy, Councilor-at-Large, University of Washington
David Cantor
, Associate Standards Committee Chair, Westat
Paul Beatty
, Associate Conference Chair, National Center for Health Statistics
Marjorie Connelly
, Associate Communications Committee Chair, The New York Times
Liz Hamel
, Associate Membership and Chapter Relations Chair, Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation

Current Executive Council:

Frank M. Newport, Past President , The Gallup Organization, Inc. 
Scott Keeter, President, Pew Research Center 
Daniel Merkle, Conference Chair ABC News
Timothy Johnson, Standards Chair University of Illinois, Chicago 
Joe Murphy, Membership and Chapter Relations Chair, RTI International 
Joseph Lenski, Secretary-Treasurer, Edison Media Research
Richard Morin, Communications Chair, Pew Research Center 
Linda Piekarski, Councilor-at-Large, Survey Sampling International 

# # #

The American Association for Public Opinion Research (AAPOR) is the leading professional organization of public opinion and survey research professionals in the U.S., with members from academia, media, government, the non-profit sector and private industry. AAPOR members embrace the principle that public opinion research is essential to a healthy democracy, providing information crucial to informed policymaking and giving voice to the nation's beliefs, attitudes and desires. It promotes a better public understanding of this role, as well as the sound and ethical conduct and use of public opinion research.