ePrivacy and GPDR Cookie Consent by Cookie Consent
The leading association
of public opinion and
survey research professionals
American Association for Public Opinion Research

2014 AAPOR Awards Announced

AAPOR Announces 2014 Award Winners, Honoring Industry Leaders

DEERFIELD, IL, March 21, 2014 — The American Association for Public Opinion Research (AAPOR), the nation's leading association for public opinion and survey research professionals, is pleased to announce our 2014 award winners. These accomplished members of our public opinion and survey research community will be honored during the annual award banquet held at the 69th Annual Conference in Anaheim, California.

2014 Warren J. Mitofsky Innovators Award

Willem Saris, Pompeu Fabra University, Spain, and Daniel Oberski, Tilburg University, The Netherlands; for the Survey Quality Predictor (SQP)

The Warren J. Mitofsky Innovators Award recognizes accomplishments in the fields of public opinion and survey research that occurred in the past ten years or that had their primary impact on the field during the past decade. The innovations could consist of new theories, ideas, applications, methodologies or technologies. To be considered for the award, innovations must be publicly documented. The award can be given to individuals, groups or institutions.

2014 Seymour Sudman Student Paper Competition Award

Nikki L. Graf, Department of Sociology, University of Wisconsin-Madison,"Parenthood and Voter Turnout:  Children as Resource Drain or Mobilizing Force?"

The Seymour Sudman Student Paper Competition Award is given as a tribute to Seymour Sudman in memory of his many contributions to survey methodology, his leadership in the AAPOR community and his teaching and mentoring of students in the survey research profession.

2014 Burns "Bud" Roper Fellow Award

Laura Davidson, Washoe County School District
Roger Feltman, Anderson, Niebuhr & Associates
Ryan Flood, Castleton Polling Institute
Farrah Graham, Virginia Commonwealth University
Samara Klar, University of Arizona
Amanda Skaff, Mathematica Policy Research

The Burns "Bud" Roper Fellow Award is named for the late Burns "Bud" Roper who provided a substantial bequest in his will. Roper Fellows must demonstrate primary work responsibilities related to survey research or public opinion and have recently started their careers. Fellows receive financial assistance to help them attend the AAPOR Annual Conference and/or participate in conference short courses; most are first-time conference attendees.

2014 AAPOR Policy Impact Award

U.S. Bureau of Justice Statistics (BJS) and Collaborative Partner Organizations
The U.S. Bureau of Justice Statistics, RTI International, Westat, National Opinion Research Center at the University of Chicago and the U.S. Census Bureau

These organizations are recognized for their joint work doing collaborative research on the impact of the Prison Rape Elimination Act of 2003.

The AAPOR Policy Impact Award acknowledges that a key purpose of opinion and other survey research is to facilitate well informed decision-making. The award recognizes outstanding research that has had a clear impact on improving policy decisions, practice and discourse, either in the public or private sectors.

2014 AAPOR Book Award

Mick Couper, Survey Research Center, University of Michigan, "Designing Effective Web Surveys", Cambridge University Press, 2008
The AAPOR Book Award recognizes influential books that have stimulated theoretical and scientific research in public opinion; and/or influenced our understanding or application of survey research methodology. Eligibility for the AAPOR Book Award includes any book in the field that is at least three years old (to allow time for books to be read and reviewed), including books published before or during the period covered by the AAPOR list of the Fifty Books That Have Significantly Shaped Public Opinion Research 1946-1995.

2014 AAPOR Student Travel Award

Vilma Agalioti-Sgompou, University of Essex
LaToya Blanks, University of Arkansas
Reagan Barbee, E. Tennessee State
Morgan Jones, E. Tennessee State
Kirstin Scott, Harvard University
Henning Silber, Stanford University
David Sterrett, University of Illinois

The AAPOR Student Travel Award funds graduate student attendance at the AAPOR Annual Conference. Student Travel Awards help to offset the expense of attending the conference. The awards are offered to students who are in need of financial support to attend the annual conference and experience this important educational and collegial event for public opinion and survey researchers.

2014 AAPOR Award for Lifetime Achievement

The award is given for outstanding contribution to the field of public opinion research including: advances in theory, empirical research and methods; improvements in ethical standards; and promotion of understanding among the public, media and/or policy makers.

The winner of the 2014 AAPOR Award for Lifetime Achievement will be announced at the annual awards banquet, Saturday, May 17, at the AAPOR Annual Conference. 
For more information on any of these awards, visit www.aapor.org.

# # #

The American Association for Public Opinion Research (AAPOR) is the leading professional organization of public opinion and survey research professionals in the U.S., with members from academia, media, government, the non-profit sector and private industry. AAPOR members embrace the principle that public opinion research is essential to a healthy democracy, providing information crucial to informed policymaking and giving voice to the nation's beliefs, attitudes and desires. It promotes a better public understanding of this role, as well as the sound and ethical conduct and use of public opinion research.