ePrivacy and GPDR Cookie Consent by Cookie Consent
The leading association
of public opinion and
survey research professionals
American Association for Public Opinion Research

Past Warren J. Mitofsky Innovators Award Winners

2020 Frauke Kreuter, PhD, University of Maryland, University of Mannheim and Institute for Employment Research (IAB)
2019 James Jackson, University of Michigan for innovative survey data collection methods for studying the political, social, psychological, and mental health of African Americans.

Anthony Lieserowitz, Yale University

for a new statistical method to downscale national public opinion estimates using multiple regression and post stratification (MPR) survey data collection methodology

Don Dillman, Washington State University; Leah Melani Christian, Nielsen; Michelle Edwards, Texas Christian University; Benjamin Messer, Research into Action, Inc.; Morgan Millar, University of Utah; Jolene Smyth, University of Nebraska - Lincoln


for web-push data collection methodology that uses postal mail contacts to request a web response while withholding alternative response modes until later in the data collection process. Their methodology is now being used by the U.S. Census Bureau and in many countries to conduct major surveys relevant to public policy decisions.


Nate Silver, Founding Director and Editor in Chief of FiveThirtyEight.com

for contributions to the General Public and Mass Media in the Realm of Statistical Literacy and Thinking

Willem Saris, Pompeu
Fabra University, Spain
Daniel Oberski
Tilburg University,
The Netherlands

for their work on the Survey Quality Predictor (SQP 2.0) which made important contributions to the advancement of questionnaire design, evaluation and analysis by providing a publicly available computer program that provdes users with predictions of the validity and reliability of survey questions.

Frederick G. Conrad
University of Michigan
Michael Schober
The New School for
Social Research

for research on conversational interviewing, the clarification of question meaning, the interpretation of standardized language, and the application of human dialogue features to web surveys, Conrad and Schober have advanced the application of new communication technologies to survey-data collection.

Michael P. Battaglia
Martin R. Frankel
Michael W. Link
Ali H. Mokdad
Larry Osborn
Vincent G. Iannacchione
Jennifer M. Staab
David T. Redden
for exploring Address-Based Sampling (ABS) for both telephone and face-to-face surveys. Their research clearly demonstrated the value of ABS as a method of research and has inspired additional research on related topics.


Stephen Blumberg
Julian Luke
Marcie Cynamon

for providing the field of survey research with timely data on changing telephone patterns in the United States.

Vasja Vehovar
Katja Manfreda
for their work in creating and fostering the Web SM Portal.

Mick Couper

for demonstrating and fostering the use of paradata by survey researchers as a tool for understanding the behavior of survey respondents.

Mark Blumenthal
Charles Franklin

for developing Pollster.com, the Weblog that provides a well-informed and critical forum for understanding contemporary public opinion research and poll results.

Arthur Lupia
Diana Mutz

for developing Time-Sharing Experiments in the Social Sciences (TESS).

Thomas B. Jabine
Miron L. Straf
Judith M. Tanur
Roger Tourangeau
for the creation of the interdisciplinary workshop on cognitive aspects of survey methodology.

James Lepkowski
Robert Casady
Clyde Tucker
for the invention of list-assisted telephone sample designs.


Robert P. Daves
Paul J. Lavrakas
Tom W. Smith

for their leadership in producing "Standard Definitions: Final Dispositions of Case Code and Outcome Rates for Surveys."

David Celentano
Jerome Johnston
Judy Lessler
James O'Reilley
Charles Turner
for the invention of audio computer-assisted self-interviewing.


Norman Nie
Douglas Rivers

for developing a probability sampling method for Internet surveys.

Andrew Kohut

for establishing the Pew Research Center for the People and the Press.

Robert M. Groves

for leadership in establishing survey methodology as a recognized academic field.

Thomas Piazza
J. Merrill Shanks
Charlie Thomas
Richard Rockwell
William Lefes
Tom W. Smith
for developing Web-based products for free dissemination of public opinion data.