The leading association
of public opinion and
survey research professionals
American Association for Public Opinion Research

Committees and Taskforces

Interested in serving on one of our committees or taskforces? Click here to volunteer.

Standards Committee

AAPOR Members
Log in to view email addresses for all committee members.

The Standards Committee is charged with the responsibility to maintain, monitor and improve professional standards in the field of public opinion and survey research. This committee promotes the AAPOR Code of Professional Ethics and Practices, helps oversee the Transparency Initiative, guides AAPOR Task Forces, and provides members with resources on professional ethics and best practices. The Standard Definitions Committee and the Transparency Initiative Coordinating Committee report to the Standards Chair. The Standards Committee is a volunteer committee invited by the Standards Chairs and approved by Executive Council.

Standards: Future of Telephone Survey Research Task Force (see also Future of Telephone Survey Task Force)

Paul J. Lavrakas, Independent Consultant, Chair

Standards: Standard Definitions Committee (see also Standard Definitions Committee)
Tom W. Smith, NORC, Independent Consultant, Chair


Andy Peytchev - Chair
University of Michigan
Term Expires May 2018
Stephanie Eckman - Associate Chair
RTI International
Term Expires May 2019
Ipek Bilgen - Member
NORC at the University of Chicago
Term Expires May 2019
Leah M. Christian - Member
Term Expires May 2019
Curtiss L. Cobb - Member
Term Expires May 2018
Charles DiSogra - Member

Term Expires May 2019
Jessica Holzberg - Member
U.S. Census Bureau
Term Expires May 2019
Ashley Kirzinger - Member
Kaiser Family Foundation
Term Expires May 2020
Kyley McGeeney - Member
Term Expires May 2019
Peter V. Miller - Member
U.S. Census Bureau
Term Expires May 2018
Linda K. Owens - Member
University of Illinois
Term Expires May 2018
Andrew E. Smith - Member
University of New Hampshire
Term Expires May 2018
Gina K. Walejko - Member
U.S. Census Bureau
Term Expires May 2019
Gordon B. Willis - Member
National Cancer Institute
Term Expires May 2018