Warren J. Mitofsky Innovators Award Winners


Willem E. Saris, Pompeu Fabra University, Spain
Daniel Oberski, Tilburg University, The Netherlands

for their work on the Survey Quality Predictor (SQP 2.0) which made important contributions to the advancement of questionnaire design, evaluation and analysis by providing a publicly available computer program that provdes users with predictions of the validity and reliability of survey questions.

Frederick G. Conrad, University of Michigan
Michael Schober, The New School for Social Research

for research on conversational interviewing, the clarification of question meaning, the interpretation of standardized language, and the application of human dialogue features to web surveys, Conrad and Schober have advanced the application of new communication technologies to survey-data collection.


Michael P. Battaglia
Martin R. Frankel
Michael W. Link
Ali H. Mokdad
Larry Osborn
Vincent G. Iannacchione
Jennifer M. Staab
David T. Redden

for exploring Address-Based Sampling (ABS) for both telephone and face-to-face surveys. Their research clearly demonstrated the value of ABS as a method of research and has inspired additional research on related topics.

2009-1 Stephen Blumberg
Julian Luke
Marcie Cynamon

for providing the field of survey research with timely data on changing telephone patterns in the United States.

2009-2 Vasja Vehovar
Katja Manfreda

for their work in creating and fostering the Web SM Portal.
2008 Mick Couper

for demonstrating and fostering the use of paradata by survey researchers as a tool for understanding the behavior of survey respondents.
2007-1 Mark Blumenthal
Charles Franklin

for developing Pollster.com, the Weblog that provides a well-informed and critical forum for understanding contemporary public opinion research and poll results.
2007-2 Arthur Lupia
Diana Mutz

for developing Time-Sharing Experiments in the Social Sciences (TESS).
2005 Thomas B. Jabine
Miron L. Straf
Judith M. Tanur
Roger Tourangeau

for the creation of the interdisciplinary workshop on cognitive aspects of survey methodology.
2004 James Lepkowski
Robert Casady
Clyde Tucker

for the invention of list-assisted telephone sample designs.
2003 Robert P. Daves
Paul J. Lavrakas
Tom W. Smith

for their leadership in producing "Standard Definitions: Final Dispositions of Case Code and Outcome Rates for Surveys." 
2002 David Celentano
Jerome Johnston
Judy Lessler
James O'Reilley
Charles Turner

for the invention of audio computer-assisted self-interviewing.
2001 Norman Nie
Douglas Rivers

for developing a probability sampling method for Internet surveys.


Andrew Kohut

Robert M. Groves

Thomas Piazza
J. Merrill Shanks
Charlie Thomas
Richard Rockwell
William Lefes
Tom W. Smith

for establishing the Pew Research Center for the People and the Press.

for leadership in establishing survey methodology as a recognized academic field.

for developing Web-based products for free dissemination of public opinion data.