Gifts to AAPOR

AAPOR's fundraising efforts are intended to support projects, awards and activities in the field of public opinion research that are beyond the scope of the association's annual budget. Gifts to AAPOR fall into two categories – the General Fund (Council-designated), and specific restricted funds (the Seymour Sudman Fund, the Roper Fellow Award Fund and the Heritage Interview Series Fund). AAPOR is also a partner with WAPOR and encourages contributions to the WAPOR/AAPOR Janet A. Harkness Student Paper Award Fund.  Contributions to the Harkness Fund are passed back directly to WAPOR.

AAPOR General Fund (Council-designated):
Gifts made to AAPOR’s General Fund can be directed by the Executive Council to meet needs identified in any of the following areas:

  • Your gift supports the AAPOR Student Travel Awards established to fund graduate student attendance at the AAPOR Annual Conference.
  • Your gift can help underwrite the cost of expanding educational programs such as webinars, online courses and regional workshops. 
  • Your gift can help us fulfill the promise of the Transparency Initiative. We have an unprecedented opportunity to influence how research organizations document their work, to increase the confidence of data consumers and to establish a rich archive for methodological research.
  • Your gift can give AAPOR an even larger voice in public discussions of polls and surveys, reinforcing the critically important principles of our Code. We can extend our outreach to young researchers and students and expand production of Task Force reports. We can serve as a catalyst and organizer of research on pressing methodological questions.

Restricted Funds:
Contribute to the annual Burns "Bud" Roper Fellow Award program, named for the late Burns "Bud" Roper who provided a substantial bequest in his will to establish the fund. Roper Award Fellows are members whose primary work responsibilities are related to survey research or public opinion and who have recently started their careers. They receive financial assistance to help them attend the annual conference and/or participate in conference short courses; most are first-time conference attendees. Since 2005, over 40 Roper Fellows have received recognition.

The Seymour Sudman Fund was created in 2003 in the memory of Seymour Sudman, following a generous contribution from Ed Blair, a former graduate student of Sudman's. The fund supports the annual Seymour Sudman Student Paper Competition Award. The Award honors the best student paper presented at the AAPOR annual conference.

The AAPOR Heritage Interview Series Fund was initiated in 2002 as a way to preserve knowledge about the founding of the public opinion research profession, the development of new ideas that have had a lasting effect on the work we do, and the growth of AAPOR itself.  Since 2002, the Heritage Interview Committee has interviewed 27 individuals who have made significant contributions to our field. Nearly all of the interviews are now available for AAPOR members to view online. The effort is ongoing.

Co-Sponsored Award Fund:
The WAPOR/AAPOR Janet A. Harkness Student Paper Award Fund was established in 2013 in fond memory of Dr. Harkness, internationally recognized for her contributions to cross-cultural survey methodology.  The award recognizes emerging young scholars in the study of multi-national/multi-cultural/multi-lingual survey research (aka 3M survey research) by offering a cash prize and support for participation in the WAPOR/AAPOR Conference.  The Janet A. Harkness Student Paper Award is co-sponsored by WAPOR and AAPOR.  All contributions to the Harkness Fund are passed back directly to WAPOR.

We encourage you to make your tax-deductible contribution to AAPOR today!

Diane O'Rourke, Development Committee Chair

Download a contribution form

Contribute online