AAPOR
The leading association
of public opinion and
survey research professionals
American Association for Public Opinion Research

Webinar Details

Design and Weighting for Dual Frame Surveys

J. Michael Brick, PhD

Thursday, September 17, 2015
12:00 PM CDT/ 1:00 PM EDT/ 10:00 AM PDT

ASA-SRMS members will receive AAPOR member pricing on webinars when registering for live webinars or purchasing recordings of webinars.
If you are an ASA member, click here to purchase.

Purchase a recording of this webinar nowPreview webinar recording

About This Course:

The course will describe the reasons for considering dual frame surveys and the conditions under which the design is efficient. Dual frame designs with screening and overlapping units will be defined and the benefits and problems associated with each type of design will be discussed. Approaches to weighting dual frame surveys will be outlined, with an emphasis on the types of information needed to produce the weights and the types of errors (sampling and nonsampling errors) that are typically encountered in practice.

Learning Objectives:

  • Describe the advantages and disadvantages of dual frame surveys.
  • Identify principles for designing dual frame surveys.
  • List methods for weighting dual frame surveys.

About the Instructor:

AAPOR-September-Webinar_Photo_small.jpgJ. Michael Brick, Ph.D., is a Vice President of Westat, a research professor in the Joint Program in Survey Methodology at the University of Maryland, and an adjunct research professor at the University of Michigan. Dr. Brick has over 40 years of experience in sample design and estimation for large surveys, survey quality control, nonresponse and bias evaluation, and survey methodology. Dr. Brick has a Ph.D. in Statistics from the American University, is a Fellow of the American Statistical Association, an elected member of the International Statistical Institute.