AAPOR is pleased to announce our 2014 awardees.

2014 AAPOR Award for Exceptionally Distinguished Achievement

Jon A. Krosnick, Standford University, the winner of the 2014 AAPOR Award for Exceptionally Distinguished Achievement was announced at the annual awards banquet, Saturday, May 17, at the AAPOR Annual Conference.

The award is given for outstanding contribution to the field of public opinion research including: advances in theory, empirical research and methods; improvements in ethical standards; and promotion of understanding among the public, media and/or policy makers.

2014 Warren J. Mitofsky Innovators Award

Willem Saris, Pompeu Fabra University, Spain, and Daniel Oberski, Tilburg University, The Netherlands; for the Survey Quality Predictor (SQP)

The Warren J. Mitofsky Innovators Award recognizes accomplishments in the fields of public opinion and survey research that occurred in the past ten years or that had their primary impact on the field during the past decade. The innovations could consist of new theories, ideas, applications, methodologies or technologies. To be considered for the award, innovations must be publicly documented. The award can be given to individuals, groups or institutions.

2014 Seymour Sudman Student Paper Competition Award 

Nikki L. Graf, Department of Sociology, University of Wisconsin-Madison, "Parenthood and Voter Turnout: Children as Resource Drain or Mobilizing Force?"

The Seymour Sudman Student Paper Competition Award is given as a tribute to Seymour Sudman in memory of his many contributions to survey methodology, his leadership in the AAPOR community and his teaching and mentoring of students in the survey research profession.

2014 Burns "Bud" Roper Fellow Award

Image Image Image Image
Laura Davidson
Farrah Graham
Samara Klar
Amanda Skaff

Laura Davidson, Washoe County School District
Farrah Graham, Virginia Commonwealth University
Samara Klar, University of Arizona
Amanda Skaff, Mathematica Policy Research

The Burns "Bud" Roper Fellow Award is named for the late Burns "Bud" Roper who provided a substantial bequest in his will. Roper Fellows must demonstrate primary work responsibilities related to survey research or public opinion and have recently started their careers. Fellows receive financial assistance to help them attend the AAPOR Annual Conference and/or participate in conference short courses; most are first-time conference attendees.

2014 AAPOR Policy Impact Award

U.S. Bureau of Justice Statistics (BJS) and its contractors, RTI International, Westat, NORC and the U.S. Census Bureau for the National Prison Rape Statistics Program.

These organizations are recognized for their joint work doing collaborative research on the impact of the Prison Rape Elimination Act of 2003.

The AAPOR Policy Impact Award acknowledges that a key purpose of opinion and other survey research is to facilitate well informed decision-making. The award recognizes outstanding research that has had a clear impact on improving policy decisions, practice, and discourse, either in the public or private sectors.

2014 AAPOR Book Award

Mick Couper, Survey Research Center, University of Michigan, "Designing Effective Web Surveys", Cambridge University Press, 2008

The AAPOR Book Award recognizes influential books that have stimulated theoretical and scientific research in public opinion; and/or influenced our understanding or application of survey research methodology. Eligibility for the AAPOR Book Award includes any book in the field that is at least three years old (to allow time for books to be read and reviewed), including books published before or during the period covered by the AAPOR list of the Fifty Books That Have Significantly Shaped Public Opinion Research 1946-1995.

2014 AAPOR Student Travel Award 

Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Vilma Agalioti-

Reagan Barbee
LaToya Blanks
Morgan Jones
Kirstin Scott
Henning Silber
David Sterrett

Vilma Agalioti-Sgompou, University of Essex
Reagan Barbee, E. Tennessee State
LaToya Blanks, University of Arkansas
Morgan Jones, E. Tennessee State
Kirstin Scott, Harvard University
Henning Silber, Stanford University
David Sterrett, University of Illinois

The AAPOR Student Travel Award funds graduate student attendance at the AAPOR Annual Conference. Student Travel Awards help to offset the expense of attending the conference. The awards are offered to students who are in need of financial support to attend the annual conference and experience this important educational and collegial event for public opinion and survey researchers.

Congratulations to all the winners.

To learn more about AAPOR awards and past awardees click here.